



November 30, 1993 Date: University of Oklahoma Place:

The Asahi Glass Chair in Chemical Engineering was established in 1993 with a joint donation of \$1 million from the Asahi Glass Co., Ltd.; the foundation; and an educational fund of the Oklahoma state government. A lecture program was held to celebrate Dr. John. F. Scamhorn's appointment as the first chair professor. Dr. Scamhorn is renowned for his accomplishments in the fields of membrane separation and surfactant chemistry. Listed below are the lecture titles, lectures and their professional affiliations.

- (1) Kimihiko Sato, Corporate Director of Research and Development Division, Asahi Glass Co., Ltd. Profile and R&D Activities of Asahi Glass
- (2) Osamu Shiragami, Senior Executive Director, The Asahi Glass Foundation Profile of the Asahi Glass Foundation
- (3) Dr. Robert S. Schechter, W.A. Moncrief Chair in Petroleum Engineering, **University of Texas** Curvature Dependence of Interfacial Free Energy
- (4) Dr. James F. Tathman, Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering, **Ohio State University Chemical Reactions in Micellar Solutions**
- (5) Dr. J. F. Scamhorn, Asahi Glass Chair in Chemical Engineering Use of Micellar-Enhanced Ultrafiltration to Remove Trichloroethylene from Polluted Ground Water



Copyright (C) The Asahi Glass Foundation